BFGoodrich®’s successful Dakar history

With no fewer than 17 Dakar wins to its name to date, BFGoodrich® will be out to add a 18th to its record when the 2021 event concludes in Al Qiddiya, Saudi Arabia, on January 14.  Since 1993, BFGoodrich® has won the Dakar 17 times with five different car manufacturers, namely Mitsubishi, Volkswagen, Mini, Peugeot and Toyota.

Live the Dakar adventure with BFGoodrich again! 

copie de 1993


While BFGoodrich® made its debut in off-road competition in the United States in 1973, it would be another 20 years before its tires first contested the mother of all cross-country rally raids. BFGoodrich won the 1st, FIA Cross-Country Rally 2WD World Cup with Jean-Louis Schlesser and the Paris-Dakar Rally class.

1999 -2000:

The American brand won the Dakar for the first time in 1999, with the French Jean-Louis Schlesser and his BFGoodrich®-equipped Renault-engined buggy which reveled in the conditions thrown up by the northwest African terrain to beat the Mitsubishi and Nissan prototypes. In 2000, the 22nd Dakar ran from the Senegalese capital to Cairo, Egypt, and Schlesser’s Renault-engined buggy and its BFGoodrich® Baja T/A tyres proved the combination to beat once again.

copie de 1999

copie de 2002


BFGoodrich® didn’t equip any of the factory prototypes in 2001, but the BFGoodrich® Rock T/A – a new tyre designed especially for these powerful 4x4 machines – claimed its maiden Dakar victory in 2002 thanks to the Japanese Hiroshi Masuoka and his Mitsubishi Pajero.


The BFGoodrich® Rock T/A and Mitsubishi went on to enjoy an unbeaten spell that lasted until 2007. BFGoodrich wins the Paris-Dakar Rally with Stéphane Peterhansel (Mitsubishi Pajero). BFGoodrich®-equipped cars also finished second and third

copie de 2004



BFGoodrich won the Paris-Dakar Rally with Stéphane Peterhansel in Mitsubishi Pajero


BFGoodrich won the Paris-Dakar Rally with Luc Alphand (Mitsubishi Pajero / Montero Evo)

copie de 2006



BFGoodrich won the Paris-Dakar Rally with Stéphane Peterhansel (Mitsubishi Pajero / Montero Evo)


Following the cancellation of the 2008 rally, the Dakar switched from Africa to South America where BFGoodrich® introduced a brand new tyre – the BFGoodrich® All-Terrain – which was engineered to match the performance of the latest-generation factory Mitsubishi and Volkswagen prototypes and address the challenges inherent in the geography of the event’s new location. The BFGoodrich® All-Terrain hit the ground running to claim the 2009 Dakar with Volkswagen’s Giniel De Villiers.




The following year, an evolution of the tyre, the All-Terrain+, helped Carlos Sainz to clinch victory for the same team in 2010


Nasser Al-Attiyah made it three-in-a-row for the German Volkswagen in 2011.




In 2012, after winning with the Renault-powered buggy, the Mitsubishi Pajero and the Volkswagen Race Touareg, BFGoodrich® triumphed again, this time with the Mini ALL-4 Racing of Stéphane Peterhansel.


BFGoodrich® resumed its winning ways in 2017 with the victory of Stéphane Peterhansel (Peugeot 3008 DKR) who spearheaded a one-two-three finish to notch up the tyre firm’s 13th Dakar success.




Carlos Sainz, Peugeot Sport and BFGoodrich® won the 2018 Dakar, which finished in Cordoba, Argentina


The 2019 Dakar saw Toyota Gazoo Racing win the famous event for the first time with Nasser Al-Attiyah who scored his third Dakar victory.




In 2020, BFGoodrich celebrated its 16th victory on the Dakar rallye with Carlos Sainz in Mini X-Raid !


In 2021, BFGoodrich celebrated its 17th victory on the Dakar rallye with Stephane Peterhansel in Mini X-Raid !

0ac8d6d1 b3ff 4ddf 8488 a68a8f80e1d2

Other articles that might interest you

You are using an unsupported web browser
You are using a website browser that is not supported by this website. This means that some functionnality may not work as intented. This may result in strange behaviors when browsing round. Use or updgrade/install one of the following browsers to take full advantage of this website